Academic Core Offer

Your study programme will have three A levels at its core. We offer an extensive range of subjects and ask you to choose three of these as the basis of your curriculum. You may choose these based on career ambitions at university or the workplace. If you don’t have an ambition at the moment, that is fine. You may also choose on the basis of what you enjoy, are good at, or are interested in. You will have many opportunities to discuss your choices and options with experienced sixth form staff during the application process. 

Academic Enrichment

To your core three A levels, you can then add a further academic course if you wish. These are:

  • The Extended Project Qualification
  • Core Maths
  • Further Maths
  • An additional A level.

For example, if you choose to study Geography, Psychology, Chemistry. Physics, Economics or Business, Core Maths would be a really useful addition that would complement the maths requirements in those A levels.

If you are studying Maths A level and have achieved a GCSE grade 8 or 9, you might like to add Further Maths, especially if you are thinking of studying Maths at university. 

It is important to recognise that no universities require four A levels as a minimum.  High achievement at GCSE would indicate suitability for four A levels; however, we believe a more balanced curriculum to be more beneficial for those intending to continue their studies at University level. Oxford and Cambridge universities explicitly prefer students to have three A levels and the EPQ, for example.